Connect with Berea

 Berea on facebook

 Alumni on facebook


 Berea videos on


Graduating Seniors honored at Banquet

On April 14, nearly 250 graduating seniors of 2004 were honored at the Annual Senior Banquet.

Nearly 150 seniors attended the banquet.

Following a reception at President Shinn's home, soon-to-be graduates attended a dinner and ceremony at Boone Tavern Hotel. Dinner was served while Ross Overbey (senior class president), Jeff Crispin, Heather Barton (the reunion chairperson), and President Shinn welcomed and addressed the crowd.

Awards presented included the Scholar Athlete Awards and the Eva Nell Whitaker Alley Memorial Award. The Scholar Athlete Award is presented to seniors who have participated in sports all throughout their career at Berea while maintaining a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0. The recipients of this award included Heather E. Wilson (cross country), Reck G. Mhango (soccer), Joseph Q. Sebey (basketball), Mee Yang (tennis), Elisabeth K. McGuire (cheerleading), James D. Heffernan (swimming and diving), Joseph Onwusu-Ansah (soccer), Jacquelyn M. Hostler (soccer), Kim A. Nguyen (tennis), Hollee A. Bragg (softball), and Tarah Carnefix (softball).

The Eva Nell Whitaker Alley Memorial Award is given to a graduating female student who "has demonstrated leadership in activities of the campus and has contributed to the on-going life of Berea College." This honor was given to Crystal L. Baldwin for her work with the Campus Activities Board and other departments she has worked with.

Ryan Blevins and the Berea College Bluegrass Ensemble entertained the audience with a special appearance. Also, speaking at the banquet was the Director of Alumni Relations Mae Suramek, director of alumni relations, and Joseph Owusu-Ansah gave a benediction. This evening of celebration for the graduating seniors ended with the guests, lead by James Lovin, Marva Blackburn, and accompanist Krista Bowker, singing "Berea Beloved."

© 2004 Berea College. All rights reserved.
Site design and development by Berea College Web Team.