Connect with Berea

 Berea on facebook

 Alumni on facebook


 Berea videos on


Berea Alum Named KIAC Commissioner

Berea graduate Bill Melton became the new Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Commissioner on November 1. Melton has been hired to replace Scott Crawford, who left for the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Commissioner opening back in August.

Melton has strong ties to the state of Kentucky in his education and athletic background. He graduated with a bachelor’s degree from Berea College in Business Administration and Economics 1969 and his master's degree from the University of Kentucky in Higher and Adult Education in 1973. He has worked for Alice Lloyd College in both their admissions and institutional advancement offices.

His athletic background includes time with Alice Lloyd College as a head baseball coach from 1979-1986 and as a player while at Berea College as an undergrad. “I am delighted to have the privilege to serve as Commissioner of the KIAC.” Melton said about his new responsibilities. “Having played and coached in the conference years ago, it is an honor to again be associated with member schools and their students, presidents, athletic directors, and coaches.”

Melton is based out of Berea, Kentucky. He continues to work with his current job at Eastern Kentucky University as an Associate Director of Regional Advancement. His job involves visiting alumni in Eastern and Northern Kentucky to obtain support for the university.

Melton’s role as commissioner makes him chief administrative officer for the conference. He reports to both the Executive Committee and the Council of Presidents for the conference. “He has no pre-conceived notions or agendas about how things should be,” said Conference President John Mills, who had filled as Interim Commissioner between Crawford’s resignation and Melton’s hiring. “With his ability to bring people to the table and keep them there, he will guide the KIAC in building our bridge to the future as we walk on it”.

The Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference consists of nine schools based in four states. Member schools are Alice Lloyd College, Asbury College, Berea College, Brescia University, Indiana University East, Indiana University Southeast, Midway College, Mountain State University, and St. Louis College of Pharmacy. The conference currently sponsors 12 championships and is a proud member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics.

Related Links

© 2004 Berea College. All rights reserved.
Site design and development by Berea College Web Team.