Connect with Berea

 Berea on facebook

 Alumni on facebook


 Berea videos on


BC Track & Field sweeps KIAC conference championships

April 24: Berea College teams won by large margins at the 2010 KIAC Conference Track and Field Championships, asserting their dominance over this year’s field.

Berea Track and Field dominates competition. (Photos: Roger Schmitt)

Six women’s teams and five men’s teams competed for the honor to be crowned conference champs at the competitions hosted at Berea College.

Berea's women’s team placed first with 305 points, with Midway College placing second with 67, and Mountain State finishing third with 50. Asbury University earned 36, Indiana University East 34 and St. Louis College of Pharmacy got 8 to round out the field of six.

The men’s team also dominated the competitions, scoring 310 points to St. Louis College of Pharmacy’s 146. Brescia had 52, Asbury University 51 and Mountain State 40.

Individual conference champions were crowned and all athletes placing in the top three were awarded all-conference honors. In all, 17 men and 18 women from Berea earned all-conference honors.

The women’s team was led by senior Jessica Proffitt who earned all-conference honors in four events, including two championship performances. Junior Megan Smith was the top point earner for the women’s team, earning all-conference honors in five events, including being crowned champion in four separate events -- the 100-meter hurdles, 400 hurdles, 4x100 relay and the 4x400 relay.

The men’s team was lead by seniors Phil Miller, Jarrod Wilder and Darius Hardrick. Miller was crowned champion in three events -- the 100, the pole vault and the 4x100 relay. Miller also won all-conference in three other events.

Jarrod Wilder won the 3000-meter steeplechase in a time of 9:42.54, just off of the time needed to qualify for national meet. Jarrod has already qualified for the nationals in the marathon. Darius Hardrick was the winner of the 200 and the 400, and helped the relay team win 4x100. He also earned all-conference honors for his second place finish on the 4x400 relay team.

The senior sprinters Miller and Hardrick were pushed hard by freshmen Kirk Schneider and Codie Monhollen. Freshman pole vaulters Julia Collins and Kyle Kincaid both earned all-conference awards, with Collins winning the women’s pole vault out-right.

Coaches Dan Bryant, Michael Johnson and Dallas Robinson were extremely pleased with the effort and performance of their athletes.

“It was a balanced effort with every group from the distance runners, sprinters, hurdlers, pole vaulters and throwers, all contributing to the overall point total,” said Coach Bryant.

Both the Berea squads are young, with more freshmen and sophomore members than any other group. But Coach Bryant added, “It was a team effort with an equal number of points earned by freshmen through seniors.”

The list of conference champions and all-cconference award winners is as follows:

Women's team:
Clarin Ellard
2nd place: 10,000m run

Cassie Hobert
1st place: 5000m, 4x800 relay
3rd place: 800

Chelsea Schmitt
1st place: 4x800 relay, 1500m run

Shaina Mason
1st place: 4x800 relay, 800m run

Whitney Austin
1st place: 4x800 relay, 4x400
2nd place: 800m

Nicole Hardin
1st place: 3000m steeple
2nd place: 400m hurdles

Jessica Proffitt
1st place: 4x100 relay, 4x400
3rd place: 200m

Tia Davis
1st place: 4x100 relay, 4x400 relay
2nd place: 400m

Ashley Edwards
1st place: 4x100 relay

Megan Smith
4x100 relay
1st place
4x100, 4x400, 100m hurdles, 400m hurdles
3rd 100m

Hannah Fitzpatrick
3rd place: 400m

Amanda Benitez
2nd place: 100m hurdles
3rd place: 400m hurdles

Sarah McLewin
3rd place: 5000m

Julia Collins
1st place: pole vault, triple jump
3rd place: long jump

Karissa Pritchett
2nd place: hammer
3rd place: shot put

Christina Mauro
1st place: hammer
3rd place: discus, javelin

Lydia Wearden
2nd place: triple jump, long jump

Tierah Ellard
2nd place: javelin

Men's team:
Antonio Marchi
1st place: 10,000m

Scott Kenney
1st place: 4x800 relay
2nd place: 10,000m

Jarrett Blankenship
1st place: 4x800 relay
3rd place: 1500m

William Harmanson
1st place: 4x800 relay
2nd place: 4x400 relay

Daryl Patrick
1st place: 4x800 relay

Jarrod Wilder
1st place: 3000m steeple
2nd place: 5000m

Lucas Warner
1st place: 400m hurdles
3rd place: 3000m steeple

Codie Monhollen
1st place: 4x100 relay
2nd place: 100m

Darius Hardrick
1st place: 4x100 relay, 200m, 400m
2nd place: 4x400 relay

Phil Miller
1st place: Pole vault, 100m, 4x100m
2nd place: 4x400, 3rd 110m hurdles, 200m

Kirk Schneider
1st place: 4x100 relay
2nd place: 200, 400, 4x400 relay, 3rd 100m

Wayne Cox
2nd place: 400m hurdles

Mark Brooks
3rd place: 400m hurdles

Kyle Kincaid
3rd place: pole vault

Allen “Ace” Brooks
1st place: shot put
3rd place: discus, hammer

Matt Montgomery
1st place: hammer, discus
2nd place: shot put

Jeremiah Ellis
2nd place: javelin

Zadock Long
2nd place: hammer
3rd place: javelin

Related Links:

© 2004 Berea College. All rights reserved.
Site design and development by Berea College Web Team.