Connect with Berea

 Berea on facebook

 Alumni on facebook


 Berea videos on


Service Awards Honor Helpful Students

Several students were honored at the fourth annual Service Awards Banquet.

Recipients of the Service Awards

Victoria Jones was the recipient of the E.R. Brann Good Citizenship Award, which recognizes the student whose character and life have made an outstanding contribution to the Christian character of Berea College.

The Ernest and Emily G. Graham Volunteer Service Award was given to Maegan Martin and Micah Johnson. This award recognizes two Berea College students, who have demonstrated exceptional volunteer service during the academic year. The award is in honor of Ernest Graham, alumni and long time volunteer, and Emily C. Graham, who was dedicated to service through her nursing career and volunteer activities.

Jessica Heatherly received the Jane A. Kendrick Community Service Award. The award recognizes volunteer service to the community and is given to the student who, through volunteer service, has accented the value of volunteer work and, in so doing, has improved and enriched the lives of others.

The Layman Memorial Scholarship was established by the daughters of the Rev. and Mrs. Henry L. Layman, missionaries in Japan for 35 years. The award was presented to Mikita Weaver. The award is given each year to the student who seems most likely to make a contribution to international relations.

The Navy V-12 Award recognizes an international student and an American student each year for outstanding contributions to human kinship and international understanding on campus. This year’s recipients are Caroline Twiggs and Debbie Ruiz.

Jamilia Robinson, Molly Spring and Alyssa McMaine were recipients of the Julia Drukker Stammer Fund for Volunteer Service. The fund provides grants to students who actively participate in existing volunteer programs, or establish new action programs where there is an identified need, to improve the quality of life of individuals or communities of the Eastern Kentucky portion of the Appalachian region.

The Joe Van Pelt Agriculture Award was given to Elizabeth Schroeder, who is a member of the junior class and is majoring in agriculture. Selection is on the basis of active interest in scholarship and sincere concern for social problems beyond the Department of Agriculture and whose efforts are above and beyond performance in the labor program.

Rachel Rosolina received the Louise Veltin Memorial Award for good citizenship. It was founded in 1936 by the Veltin Association of New York City in memory of Louise Veltin. The income from the endowed fund is to be awarded each year to an upperclassman chosen for all-around good citizenship.

The Dr. Lee E. Wickline Scholarship is given in honor of Dr. Lee E. Wickline, class of ’49. Jose Gonzales was presented with the honor. Recipients mus be a full-time enrolled junior or senior majoring in education and give evidence of being well-rounded and having demonstrated an enthusiastic interest in school and community activities and an awareness of universal human values.

Alexander Gibson and Jessica Stone received the Homer E. Williams Award for campus leadership in interracial understanding. It is given annually to two students, one black and one white or non-white, who demonstrate leadership qualities in all aspects of campus and student life, particularly in the promotion of interracial understanding.

The Red Foley Memorial Music Award was given to Jake Krack. The Foley Memorial Music Award recognizes a student for his/her musical contribution to the social life of the campus community. The award was established in honor of country music star Red Foley who attended the Berea Academy.

The George and Lucille C. McKinney Service Award is given to a student who will be a senior the following year and who is an active participant in volunteer service in the college community. This year’s recipient is JoEllen Pederson.

Danielle Capillo was given the Stammer Appalachian Service Award (Labor Department Award). This award is given annually to a student who has made a contribution to the Appalachian region through her/his labor position.

The Service Awards were also given in conjunction with the annual Berea College Service Convocation, which was co-sponsored by the Campus Christian Center, CELTS, and the Convocations Committee.

Related Links

© 2004 Berea College. All rights reserved.
Site design and development by Berea College Web Team.